Innovation X-Change on Energy Productivity

The customer-centred transformation

Monday 08 April 2019, Aerial Centre, Sydney


To view the program, click here

Presentations are linked below. If there is no link the speaker did not make use of visuals.



Welcome and opening, acknowledgement of Country

Kate McGrath, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Technology Sydney

A2EP, innovation and implementation

Simon Smith, Chair, Australian Alliance for Energy Productivity (A2EP)

RACE for 2030 CRC: Towards a customer-centred clean energy transition

Stuart White, Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures


Session 02: Driving energy innovation - Moving Australia from laggard to leader

Richard Adams, Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Andrew Dillon, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Networks Australia

Ned Harvey, Managing Director, Carbon War Room, Rocky Mountain Institute

Harry Verhaar, Head of Global Public & Government Affairs, Signify

Chair: Katherine Woodthorpe, Chair, Fishburners


Session 03: RACE for homes

Rosemary Sinclair, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Consumers Australia

Greg Morrison, Director, Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute

Tony Douglas, Director, Essential Media Communications

Matti Dinkelmeyer, Senior Manager E-mobility & Smart Energy Solutions, Delta Energy Systems

Chair: Chris Dunstan, Research Director, Institute for Sustainable Futures, UTS


Session 04: RACE for business

Francis Norman, General Manager Innovation & Strategy, National Energy Resources Australia

Mary Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Energetics

Dinesh Chand, Technology Demonstration Manager, Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority of New Zealand

Ned Harvey, Managing Director, Carbon War Room, Rocky Mountain Institute

Andrew Richards, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Users Association of Australia

Chair: Darren Miller, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Renewable Energy Agency


Session 05: Innovation in finance

Andrew Lawson Director Sustainable Finance, ANZ

Liz Fletcher, Marketing Manager, FlowPower

Fiona Waterhouse, Chief Executive Officer, Utilitas Group

Ariel Liebman, Deputy Director, Monash Energy Materials and Systems Institute (MEMSI)

Chair: Emma Herd, Chief Executive Officer, Investor Group on Climate Change


Session 06: RACE for Networks

Samantha Christie, Manager Emerging Energy Technologies, NSW Department of Planning and Environment

Renate Egan, Cofounder and Chair, Solar Analytics

Richard Adams, Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Chair: Ariel Liebman, Deputy Director, Monash Energy Materials and Systems Institute (MEMSI)


Session 07: Water, waste water and waste to energy

Philip Woods, Service Planning Lead (Energy), Sydney Water

Chris Alexander, General Manager Strategic Planning, Veolia

Ben Spedding, Energy & Resource Recovery Manager, South East Water

Edwin Foong, Business Development Manager, Enwave

Chair: Corinne Ong, Chief Executive Officer, ENGIE Services


Session 08: Driving innovation in energy

Jonathan Jutsen, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Alliance for Energy Productivity

Christopher Lee, Chief Executive Officer, Climate-KIC Australia

Joanna Nelson, Group Manager - Future Energy, Origin Energy

Alex Lloyd, Consultant Energy Transformation, University of South Australia

Chair: Rebecca Shepherd, Senior Advisor Research Initiatives, RMIT University


Session 09: The customer–centred grid

Violette Mouchaileh, Executive General Manager - Emerging Markets & Services, Australian Energy Market Operator

Craig Tupper, Manager – Demand Management & Forecasting, Ausgrid

Jeff Renaud, Head of Asia Pacific, Enel X

Dani Alexander, Research Principal, Institute for Sustainable Futures

Chair: Glenn Platt, Research Director - Energy, CSIRO


Session 10: Industry 4.0: Electrification and digitalisation

John Broadbent, Director & Founder, Smart Factory Mentoring & Strategy, Realise Potential

Peter Haenke, Energy Productivity Manager, Australian Renewable Energy Agency

James Hunt, General Manager Solution Sales, Schneider Electric

Carl Duncan, Group Manager Resource Efficiency, Teys Australia

Chair: Kylie Bell, Executive Director, Industry, Trade & Investment, NSW Department of Industry


Session 11: Innovation in the food value chain

Frank Bruno, Chair in Energy Future Industries Institute, University of South Australia

Alan Pears, Senior Industry Fellow, RMIT University

Cathy Waters, Leader Climate Research, NSW Department of Primary Industries

Warren Leitao, Chief Operating Officer, ReNu Energy

Thorsten Winkler, Managing Director, AGO Bioenergy

Chair: Mirjana Prica CEO, Food Innovation Australia Limited (FIAL)


Session 12: Energy fish tank - Promising disruptor businesses in a fast-moving showcase


Solar Analytics

Redback Technologies


Planet Ark Power




Jil Lindau, Commercial Head Australia & New Zealand, BloombergNEF

Chris Lee, Chief Executive Officer, Climate-KIC Australia

Victoria Adams, Director, Clean Energy Finance Corporation